About the Department...

The present **Department of Surgery** is one of the oldest departments of the University established in 1912 and has facilitated the development of more than ten super speciality departments. The **New Surgical Block (NSB)** was inaugurated and dedicated for service on **16th January 1955**. The department continues to evolve and is trying to keep pace with the fast evolution of minimal access surgery, rapid developments in various sub-specialities and new dimensions of surgical sciences.

The **Department of Surgery** conducts extensive undergraduate and postgraduate teaching programme and research. Besides it is in the forefront of providing service. We deal with heavy emergency surgical work, which also entails attending the courts. Advanced laparoscopic and bariatric, endo-urological, thoracoscopic surgeries and modern procedures for thyroid, parotid, breast and ano-rectal diseases are routinely performed in our department.

As encouraged and inspired by the **Hon'ble Vice Chancellor** each unit is performing specialized organ based surgery work in addition to general surgery. The faculty members are focussing on various sub-specialities like head & neck oncology, thoracic surgery, urology, endocrine, breast, hepatobiliary, ano-rectal and minimal access & bariatric surgery.

The department started functioning in the year 1912 and PG course was started in the year 1928 with first MS (General Surgery) being awarded to Dr. MAH Siddiqui in the year 1930. The concept of a composite department with its own building consisting of operation theatres with pre and post operative wards, research and project wards, clinical laboratories, services for sterilization, dressing material preparation, transfusion, stores, auditorium and offices was developed by Prof SC Misra. This bore fruit in the form of the New Surgical Block (NSB) that was inaugurated on 16th January 1955, by the then Chief Minister Sri Chandra Bhan Gupta, the Department celebrates this day as its foundation day.

INAUGURAL PROGRAMME

Time

12:30 pm to 12:35 pm Lighting of the Lamp and Saraswati Vandana Welcome address – Prof. K.K Singh 12:35 pm to 12:40 pm 12:40 pm to 12:45 pm Annual Report – Prof. A. A Sonkar Head of Department 12:45 pm to 12:55 pm Words of Wisdom by Guest of Honour – Prof. B. K Ojha 12:55 pm to 01:00 pm Words of Wisdom by Guest of Honour – Prof. Amita Jain 01:00 pm to 01:05 pm Words of Wisdom by Guest of Honour – Prof. Apjit Kaur 01:05 pm to 01:15 pm Address by Chief Guest – Honorable VC 01:15 pm to 01:20 pm Presentation of Mementoes to the Orators. 01:20 pm to 01:25 pm Award distribution to Staff / Employees. 01:25 pm to 01:30 pm Felicitation of Dignitaries on the Dais 01:30 pm to 01:33 pm Vote of thanks – Dr. Kushagra Gaurav 01:33 pm to 01:35 pm National Anthem

Organizing Chairman
Prof. Abhinav A. Sonkar

Organizing Secretary
Dr. Kushagra Gaurav
Mob-8932985717

Joint Organizing Secretary

Dr. Amit Karnik

Mob-9454146150





Prof. S.C. Misra was born in 1907 and did MBBS in the year 1930. He did MRCS and FRCS from London. He became professor Department of Surgery K.G.M.C, Lucknow in 1939 and remained the Head of the Department from 1952 to 1970. He was Chairman of UP Chapter of Association of Surgeons of India from 1975 to 1977. The concept of a composite department with its own building consisting of operation theaters with pre & post operative wards, research and project wards, clinical laboratories, services for sterilization, store, auditorium and office was developed by him.



Prof. P.C. Dubey was born in 1928. He did MBBS from Lucknow University in 1951. He won 7 Gold Medals including the prestigious Hewett Medal. He did Triple FRCS from Glasgow, Edinburgh and London. He joined the teaching faculty in 1956 and became professor in 1970. He was the Head of the Department of Surgery from 1982 - 88. His interest led to the development of the different specialities like Surgical Oncology, Pediatric Surgery and Urology. He was embodied with an impressive personality and a sportsman who won several medals



Prof. T.C. Goel - Emeritus Professor was born on October 3, 1938 in a small town called Dankaur (district Bulandshahar) in U.P. He passed MBBS in 1962 (KGMC) and was awarded 14 Gold including the prestigious Hewett Medal, 2 Silver, 1 Bronze medals, 2 Book Prizes and 8 Honours. He passed MS Surgery in 1965 and was awarded a Gold Ring and Chancellor's Medal for being the Best Student of all the faculties of Lucknow University (1965). He has published 60 research papers in various journals and 29 scientific articles. He greatest passion is writing books and has written 12 medical and 9 non-medical books, hence was nick-named as Hamilton Bailey of India by his students. In 2015 he authored a text-book in Hindi, written especially for student weak in English that was an outcome of years of hard work. He is actively engaged in writing books and two new books are nearing completion.

Faculty, Residents and Staff of Department of General Surgery, King George's Medical University UP Lucknow

Cordially invite you to grace

Annual Foundation Day Celebrations

112th FOUNDATION YEAR

Founded 1912

New Surgical Block 1955

Saturday, 24th February 2024

Hall C (200 Seater)
Atal Bihari Vajpayee Scientific Convention Center,
Lucknow

Chief Guest

Dr. Soniya Nityanand MD, PHD

Hon'ble Vice Chancellor
King George's Medical University Uttar Pradesh
Lucknow

Time:10:00 am – 10:40 am Topic Speaker Dr. S. C. Mishra Oration Topic: Legacy in Surgery

Dr. Hari Shankar ShuklaFounder and Head of Department of Surgical
Oncology, IMS BHU, Varanasi



Time: 10:50 am – 11:30 am Topic Speaker Dr. P. C. Dubey Oration

Topic : Fostering Innovations in Healthcare **Dr. Sanjeev Mishra**Vice Chancellor

Atal Bihari Vajpayee Medical University Lucknow



Time: 11:40 am – 12.20 pm Topic Speaker Dr. T. C. Goel Guest Lecture
Surgical Teacher – Where Do I Stand'

Dr. Sunil Kumar Sharma Dhakal
Principal Consultant & HoD

Department of GI and General Surgery Unit 1,
Nepal Mediciti, Kathmandu Nepal

