PRESS NOTE

Department of Transfusion Medicine, King George Medical University, Lucknow organized its 8th foundation day and also "Raktdaan Ko samman Samaroh" at Brown hall Kgmu. The Chief Guest of the function was Honourable Minister Sri Ashutosh Tandon, Minister for Medical Education and Technical Education. Prof. MLB Bhatt, Honourable Vice Chancellor, KGMU presided over the function. Other distinguished guests on dias were Prof. Vinita Das, Dean Faculty of Medicine, Prof SN Shankwar, Chief Medical superintendent, KGMU and Dr Tulika Chandra, Head. Department of Transfusion Medicine, KGMU. Dr Tulika Chandra presented the progress of the department in which she said that KGMU has the biggest blood bank in the country with an annual collection of 66,000 blood units. Supply of PRBC and FFP has increased to above 50,000 annually and platelet supply to 39,000. Reactive rates are much less as compared to previous years due to presence of NAT, the best screening technology available. Number of organizations which have joined are above 120 with all the latest technologies present in blood bank.

Many blood donor organizations, Voluntary Donors and Motivaters were honoured today. Total of 95 organisations were awarded primarily Amar ujala foundation, Lions club, Awanti mahila Vikas and sewa sansthan, hussaini blood Donor club, Dr Rajendra Prasad Memorial society, Tata Motors, Sant Nirankari, Sashastra Seema Bal, swami Vivekanand Youth, 27 Rajput Lucknow, Mahila Patanjali Yog samiti,Indian rail Pariwahan Prabhandhan sansthan, Lucknow, NABARD, L and T lucknow, Metro and many others, Donor Motivaters were Dr H Sen, Mr Avadesh Narain, Mr Ramchandra Yadav, Mr Anil agarwal, Mr Sandeep Saxena, Dr Pushpa Shankwar, Dr Vinod singh, Major Velu, Mrs Geetali trivedi, Mr Ravidas malhotra. Donors who were honoured were Dr Indushekhar Pancholi, Mr Rajshekhar, Sq leader Praveer bhoria, Mr Avanish saxena, Mr Vineet Shrivastava, Mr Kapil Soni, Mr Shitij Mathur, Mr rishikesh Dubey, Mr Pushpendra Kumar, Mr ashish Kr Gupta,, Mr Rahul gautam, Mr Mahavir Prasad Baghel, Mr Lalji upadhayaya, Mr SMH Zaidi, Dr Kuljeet Singh, Mr Surendra Kumar, Mr Brijesh Kumar, Mr Kripashankar.